Make up that I actually bothered using on holiday

Processed with VSCO with hb1 preset

Hi guys,
Hope you’re having a lovely summer and you get to see places that you wanted to see.
As you probably already know, as I cannot seem to shut up about it, I have recently been fortunate enough to visit Greece, or more specifically, Rhodes. It was an amazing experience which you can read about in my previous blog post.
Now, trust me when I say that I am rubbish at packing. My boyfriend tells me off constantly for taking things that I will not be using and although I argue back, most of the time he is right. As much as I can’t imagine my life without make up in everyday life, on holiday, I barely ever use anything despite packing a full make up bag. So today, I thought I would share with you some of the make up that I actually bothered using in the hot weather (unless we were going to the beach… then no make up it was. No one likes panda eyes, do they?).
  1. Anastasia Beverly Hills Brow Wiz in Dark Brown – £15.50 – I have no eyebrows. No, that is a lie. I do have eyebrows. Just not much of them. My hair is naturally very dark (it’s ombred now, so the roots are) but somehow, my eyebrows just decided not to match the hair on my head and are considerably lighter. That is why I need to fill in my eyebrows, otherwise, I look awkward. Well, I think only I think that. Because I had my eyebrows tinted before I left, I didn’t need that much of a filling, as I would usually go for the pomade, but the Brow Wiz was amazing for just filling in the tiny parts that needed to be coloured. 
  2. MAC Prep + Prime Skin Base Visage – £21.50 – Why would you wear a primer without wearing a foundation, you may ask? Well, this primer gives the loveliest glow. As much as I tend to want to stay matte back in England due to struggling with an oily t-zone, on holiday I am all about the glow. This just makes my skin appear smooth, healthy and glowing without having to apply the heavy foundation.
  3. Rimmel Wake Me Up Concealer – £5.49 – Despite not wanting to have full coverage on my face, the late nights spent drinking cocktails in bars, were really showing on my face. This concealer is amazing at covering the dark circles under your tired eyes. I applied it just there and lightly patted it in with the tips of my fingers (who can be bothered to wet their Beauty Blender?!). Instantly, my face would look so much more awake and ready to face the day of walking, sunlight and sightseeing.
  4. Natural Collection Blushed Cheeks in Pink Cloud – £1.99 – I don’t tend to use much bronzer on holiday because, let’s face it, you are probably hoping to catch at least a little bit of sun on your face to not have to do that. However, I still like to use a blusher to give my face a little bit of a healthier look (remember the cocktails?). These blushers are amazing. They are so affordable, have some lovely shades and the packaging is so small and easy to fit into any make up bag. Of course, due to the price, it does not last you all day, however it has impressed me a lot more than some of the higher end blushers I have used. If you ever have 2 quid to spend and are round Boots, give them a go.
  5. Maybelline Lash Sensational Mascara – £8.99 – I realise that I probably should have gone for something waterproof as although you’re not swimming when sightseeing, you still sweat. However, I did not notice any residue under my eyes after a whole day of wearing it. A lot of people rave about this mascara, for all good reasons. It is affordable, coats your lashes nicely and does not clump. I quite like it, however, suffering with short eyelashes, I’m yet to find my dream mascara.
  6. NYX Butter Gloss in Angel Food Cake – £5.50 – I have talked about these glosses before. I absolutely love them. They have an amazing colour selection, are affordable and look great on the lips. On holiday, I don’t tend to use much lipstick, unless I’m going out for dinners in the evening, but throughout daytime, I love a nice, subtle glow on my lips. This lipgloss gives me just that. You have to try it. This colour is particularly a lovely nude and is also great to combine with a nude lipstick of your choice.
What are your holiday essentials? Let me know. I hope you enjoyed!

Processed with VSCO with hb1 preset

4 thoughts on “Make up that I actually bothered using on holiday

Leave a Reply

