Healthy vegetarian, beetroot soup

Processed with VSCO with hb1 preset

Hi guys!
I have recently been trying out pescetarianism. If you’re currently like my mum and asking yourself what the hell pescetarianism is, it’s a diet which eliminates all meat products excluding fish and sea food. Now, I know I’m going to get some vegetarians and vegans screaming at the screen, trying to let me know that fish are animals too and the eggs and diary industry is just as bad as the meat one. Yes – I do realise! However, pescetarianism, for me, is just one step forward. I think even starting with Meatless Mondays makes a change, so yes, I am proud of myself. It has now been a month and no side effects have been noticed. πŸ˜‰
Due to the change in my diet and a lot of spare time, I have tried implement a lot of new recipes into my every day life. For some reason, I really craved beetroot (and now, if that isn’t the weirdest craving you hear of…) and decided to make a beetroot soup. I found the recipe on Pinterest (My Fussy Eater to be exact) which is always my point of call when it comes to recipes and dishes. It is healthy, tasty, easy and you guessed it, vegetarian.
So, let’s get into the recipe!

Processed with VSCO with hb1 preset

You will need:
3 beetroots
2 carrots
1 potato
1 onion
2 tbsp tomato puree
2 bay leaves
1 litre of vegetable stock
2 cloves of garlic (I use the already chopped up one because… I’m lazy!)
Half a teaspoon of thyme
Salt and pepper to taste
Method:
  1. Prepare all of your vegetables. Peel and cut them into chunks that are all similar size.
  2. Chop the onion. Put some olive oil into a big pan and add the onion. After 2 minutes, add the garlic and after softened, add all of the chopped vegetables. Cook for 4 minutes.
  3. Add the vegetable stock, tomato puree, thyme, bay leaves and salt and pepper. Bring the soup to boil and then reduce heat and simmer for about 20 minutes or until the vegetables are cooked through.
  4. Blend the soup together (I used a hand blender).
  5. To serve I used some greek yoghurt, grated cheese and parsley.

Processed with VSCO with hb1 presetProcessed with VSCO with hb1 preset

Enjoy!

7 thoughts on “Healthy vegetarian, beetroot soup

Leave a Reply

