Holiday Essentials

 

Processed with VSCO with hb1 presetWith summer fully gracing us with its presence, a lot of people are getting ready for their holidays. Whether you are going abroad or staying in the country, I wanted to share with you what I can’t live without on holiday. Hope you enjoy!
  1. A hat – I suffer from health anxiety. And how is this anything to do with hats? Well, when you suffer from health anxiety every little symptom turns into a massive deal. When on holiday, I am paranoid about suffering from heat stroke due to being exposed in the sun for too long. Keeping a hat on, allows me to protect my head and so, ease my anxiety. You should really wear it, even if you don’t suffer with anxiety though. Heat stroke is a real thing!
  2. Appropriate clothing – I love a relaxing holiday, (which is why a bikini is a necessity!)  but I can’t stay at the beach or by the pool for too long. I’m the kind of person who loves exploring new places, often by foot. A bikini, loose, cotton clothing and comfortable shoes (usually my trusty Birkenstocks) I literally live in on holidays.
  3. SPF and Aftersun – I mean.. do I have to explain this one? I burn. Badly. After a day on the beach, I look like a lobster. And that is with SPF. SPF 50 is therefore necessary for me, especially around the face and shoulders area. I usually use a 20 for the rest of my body and try to reapply every time I get out of the sea, even though the brands claim to be water resistant. I mean.. you can never be too safe, right? Aftersun (I’m screaming Love Island reference) is also a must to help your skin heal after being exposed to the sun. In the picture, there are my trusty Nivea ones which I have used ever since I was little. On the other hand though, my boyfriend rarely ever uses SPF and never suffers. Where is the justice?
  4. Backpack – Pretty much similar to number 2. As stated already, I love exploring and trips when on holiday. Backpacks make carrying a load just that little bit more comfortable. When in hot places, you definitely need a bottle of water, or even a spare pair of sunglasses. Instead of hurting your shoulder by carrying a massive beach bag, backpacks are there to save you.
  5. Hair products – When you’re out on the beach or going for a skiing holiday, your hair will suffer. Whether it’s the intense heat, cold, sea salt or the sun. My hair is half bleached which means it’s prone to get dry anyway. Having a hair oil such as the Morrocan one, allows you to moisturise any of these dry strands whenever you feel the need to without weighing your beachy locks down.
  6. A camera – Sorry, it’s not in the picture. I was taking the photo with it! I always have a camera with me when on holiday or even during any weekends away or even just the occasional one day trips to new places. I love to document my life and look back at the memories at later stages. I am still to print all of my photographs out. I have a few albums from when I was a child and absolutely love looking through them as they bring back a lot of nostalgia. I think it’s a shame that the habit of printing out photographs has been lost in the digital era of cameras. Definitely a goal for this year!
One thought on “Holiday Essentials

Leave a Reply

