My trip to Rhodes – Part 1 – About Rhodes

Processed with VSCO with hb1 presetHi lovelies,
I went on holiday, whooo! Going on holiday would probably be my favourite thing in the world. I love discovering new places, foods and meeting new people. This recent trip has inspired us (my boyfriend and I) to hopefully, in two years’ time save enough money to go travelling for a year. I have never been the one to consider this; I get easily anxious and value stability as it often calms me down.
But this trip was… different. It was my first holiday without parents (I know, I’m 21… but money doesn’t grow on trees!) and maybe that’s what made it so special for us. We were free. We saw places. We met people whom I will actually keep in touch with. We fell in love with travelling. So, keep your fingers crossed for me. I hope this isn’t just the holiday blues speaking through me.
Processed with VSCO with hb1 preset
I loved Rhodes. We stayed in the capital, Rhodes Town, more specifically in the centre of the Old Town. It was incredibly romantic. The atmosphere of the surroundings and our hotel was everything we could have wished for. We stayed in a place called Kristina’s Rooms. Now, we are not at all the all-inclusive-holiday-by-the-pool kind of people. We honestly just need a hotel to sleep in, have a shower in and occasionally use the wi-fi. This hotel gave us all that with great style. The rooms were very comfortable, nicely decorated and cool (in the temperature sense! You need it in Rhodes). Each room had a little outside seating area that allowed you to chill and relax in the shade on the days when it was just that little bit too hot. Nothing more we could have asked for and would definitely recommend. We booked our hotel and flights through Expedia and for 11 nights, payed around Β£800 for both of us, which was a pretty good deal.
The hotel was also very well situated. As we have travelled by plane, we needed something that was close to all of the attractions and the public transport. Situated in the Old Town, the hotel allowed us to explore these areas as well as being within walking distance to the beach and the New Town where all of the more modern shops and bars are.
Processed with VSCO with hb1 preset
Rhodes Town has a lot to offer. If you’re a historical junkie then it is a place for you. You can visit the museums, castles and ancient building such as the remains of the Temple of Apollo or the old stadium. To be honest, walking anywhere in the Old Town would be exciting for you. If you’re more of a nightlife lover then you will not be disappointed by what Rhodes has to offer either. The many clubs and bars of the New Town (Old Town also!) are surely to keep you entertained for days with many offering deals and discounts for tourists (I will do a post on where to eat and drink in Rhodes Town soon, so stay tuned if you’re interested!). If you’re into nature and architecture, the views are breathtaking. Adrenaline junkie? Why not try the scuba-diving experiences? (a post on that coming soon too!)
Processed with VSCO with hb1 preset
If you’re currently looking for a place to go on holiday, I would definitely recommend Rhodes. I do have to say, it is quite a touristy place, but saying that, it does have an authentic feel. You do have to be careful of any scams, like bar owners convincing you to come and drink a beer and ending up bringing you the biggest one you have ever saw and asking you to pay €16 for one. Usually, the best places don’t require people convincing you to have a seat. The Greeks (well, at least the ones that we have met!) were all lovely people and came forward as very intelligent and open-minded. Except for a certain few Greeks, who were more open about their appreciation for the opposite sex! πŸ™‚
Processed with VSCO with hb1 preset
Have you ever been to Rhodes? Are there any places you would love to visit in the future? I know I surely have a list! I look forward to hearing from all of you.
Julia xProcessed with VSCO with hb1 preset
5 thoughts on “My trip to Rhodes – Part 1 – About Rhodes

  1. perfect shots as always! I have never been to Rhodes but I think I am going to put that in my list. I have always wanted to go to London, sounds very common but I love London! πŸ™‚

    Like

Leave a Reply

