Oily dehydrated skin… what?!

Processed with VSCO with hb1 preset

Hi guys,
hope you’re having a lovely weekend. I certainly am… (except for the massive load of University work that is still waiting for me to complete it. But hey, nothing’s more important than a roast dinner at a pub on a Sunday, right?!)
Today, I wanted to talk to you about my skin. The one on my face.
Now, I have written (spoken?) about this subject a lot before and from what you can gather from my previous post,  my skin has always been very problematic. In the weekday mornings (and I do not know why there is a difference!) my skin is quite smooth and manageable, as at the weekend mornings it turns into a dry mess that makes applying foundation, without a dump beauty blender, pretty much impossible (is it the lay in? Please tell me it’s not the lay in…). No matter how my skin behaves in the mornings, by about 2pm you could literally be able to see your own reflection on my forehead. No, I am not exaggerating. The sebum build up on my forehead, nose and tops of my cheeks was something that has haunted me ever since my teenage years. I have always blamed it on having oily skin and kept using moisturises focused on this condition or… not use a moisturiser at all (I know, beauty addicts, it’s a sin!). It was only very recently that I have decided to get my skin checked by a skin expert (they probably have a specific name?) at a SPA we went to and I could not have been more wrong about my skin. I found out that my skin was classified as oily DEHYDRATED skin. At first I was like… is this even a thing? My poor, ignorant self has only ever heard of three skin types; oily, dry and combination, so this was a complete mystery. It turned out I had to thoroughly hydrate my skin in order to stop the excess sebum production, because apparently that’s what happens when your skin does not have enough moisture.
So… I have completely switched up my skincare routine in order to match the needs of my skin. Maybe, this will help someone out there. I use these products in the order shown, except for the last Aveda mask which I only put on overnight. These products are highly moisturising and nourishing which is apparently what my skin has been missing. I have noticed that with the right primer (hello, Benefit Porefessional!) my skin does not produce half of the oil is used to and has sorted itself out in the morning. I still get an occasional dry skin on my nose but I am yet to find a good exfoliator. Any ideas?
Processed with VSCO with hb1 presetProcessed with VSCO with hb1 presetProcessed with VSCO with hb1 presetProcessed with VSCO with hb1 preset
Thayer Cucumber Witch Hazel with Aloe Vera Alcohol-Free Toner – £16.00 – 355ml
Avene Soothing Moisture Mask – £11.50 – 50ml
La Roche-Posay Hydraphase Rich Cream – £17.00 – 50ml
La Roche-Posay Hydraphase Intense Serum – £19.00 – 30ml
2 thoughts on “Oily dehydrated skin… what?!

Leave a Reply

