Review Sunday: Battle of the moisturisers!

Another Sunday, another review.
Today I’m going to be comparing my two favourite moisturisers; one is drugstore and one is high-end. Which one should you go for?
dscf1448
Name: Kiehl’s Ultra Facial Cream – Hydrating Moisturiser
Brand: Kiehl’s
Price: £24.50
Tested on animals: Claim to not test on animals except when required by law. So they do, partly.
What I liked:
  • It is thick and moisturising. When you put it on it almost feels as if your skin is drinking (literally!) and it’s one of the best feelings in a skincare routine. The skin is left feeling smooth and hydrated.
  • It has a subtle smell of a typical ‘face cream’ (do you know that smell?) which I really enjoy as it isn’t too overpowering. It is very gentle to the skin and doesn’t irritate it; it feels like it doesn’t contain any unnecessary chemicals to make it appealing but rather focuses on the effectiveness.
  • I’d say it’s good for all skin types. My skin is combination skin and I feel that it managed to hydrate the dry patches while balancing out the oiliness. The company itself doesn’t specify which skin type the moisturiser should be used for, however it seems to be advised to use it for dry skin. I don’t think that this is the case.
  • It absorbs so easily. Once it’s on, you don’t have to rub it in for absolute ages to wait for the white lines to disappear and at the same time, it doesn’t leave your skin feeling tight. I love this, as I usually rush through my skincare routine and don’t have to wait to follow with my next step.
What I didn’t like:
  • Other than the price and lack of SPF, I don’t really think there was anything I disliked. I do have to say, it is quite pricy for the amount you get in the pot compared to the high-street brands. However, the quality is amazing so I wouldn’t say this was too much of an issue for me.
    Overall rating: 5/5. – Definitely! I love it too much to say anything else.
dscf1451
(Yes, the black blob to the right of the photo is my cat sleeping!)
Name: Simple Kind to Skin Replenishing Rich Moisturiser
Brand: Simple
Price: About £4.00 but often on offer.
Tested on animals: No (yay!)
What I liked:
  • Again, so moisturising! I have used it in the winter as well as in the summer after my skin was exposed to a little bit too  much sun and it has worked through it all. It works wonders for any dry patches that appear on my skin and leave my skin feeling soft and hydrated which is what you would expect from a moisturiser, right?.
  • The value for the price. It is cheap, no doubt about that and a little goes a long way. I love how this is a moisturiser just about anyone can go out and buy. It is also widely available in shops; you can get it in the usual Boots and Superdrug, but I have also seen it in places like Tesco.
  • It is really gentle and again, has that lovely, natural smell to it. It feels calming on the skin and doesn’t make me break out. I feel that it would be a good suit for sensitive skin.
  • It is a lot thinner than Kiehl’s when applying. The texture isn’t as thick which some people prefer.
What I didn’t like:
  • It doesn’t absorb as easily. Once you put it on, you do have to wait a little while for it to sink in completely and although this is only probably about 30 seconds, I do notice it, especially when putting on a thicker layer on those winter days.
  • Although the moisturiser claims to be ‘rich’ and work for the driest of skins, looking at the texture I don’t know if this is necessarily true. I don’t have really dry skin myself, so can’t tell you exactly, however, the texture is quite light and I have seen this brought up in other reviews of this product.
    Overall rating: 4.9/5 – I love this moisturiser too. The 0.1 deduction is purely due to the fact that it’s not absorbed as easily as the Kiehl’s moisturiser. It works perfectly for my skin and it is an absolute bargain. These are the kind of products I love.
Overall, I would recommend for you to try both of these if you can. Both are moisturising, hydrating and I think, effective with sensitive skin. However, if you’re on a budget then the Simple Moisturiser is always my go to. I think you can’t go wrong for such a price!
5 thoughts on “Review Sunday: Battle of the moisturisers!

Leave a Reply

