Birthday post – where do I want to be in 10 years?

dscf1394

(Yes, this was my birthday cake, thanks mummy!)
So, I am now officially 21 as you all probably gathered as I keep going on about it. My birthday was one of the loveliest times this year (not that we’re that far into it!) and I’ve been spoilt rotten, especially with the amounts of food I have consumed within my birthday week.  But turning into a full grown adult (not according to my mum, though) made me realise that I am nowhere near where I thought I would be at 21 when I was 10 years old. Do I own a house? No. Am I married? No. Thinking about kids? Occasionally but then I remember that in my brain I am still a kid myself. So, how do I sort my life out? Here is a list of things I wish to achieve and look back to when I’m 31.
  1. Travel more. Everyone I know loves travelling or at least talk about how much they love it. I am going as far as to say that I… like traveling. I was never tempted to go anywhere further than Europe and that already would stress me out. Being the anxious person that I am, I have to have every little detail of my trip planned, going as far as having the exact bus timetable of the town on my phone, downloaded before I even get there. Being in new, unknown places scares me. Meeting new people, not being able to communicate, getting lost are just a few of my fears. I would like to see myself go past this and explore what the world has to offer without doubting my every move.
  2. Get married and start a family. I know some of you are probably screaming at the screen. This isn’t the sense of 21st century woman’s life, except.. it is for me. Ever since I was a child all I ever wanted to be was a ‘mummy’. I dreamed of a big, white wedding and my charming prince on a horse (exaggeration, I know, the love of my life is nowhere near the royalty!) and that feeling never quite went away. To think about getting married and starting a family in the next 10 years is scary; it really doesn’t sound like a long way away, at all! But bearing in mind that I think I have already found the one, it shouldn’t be this difficult, should it?
  3. Flourish in my career. I reckon this will be the trickiest one of all. I am not a one to settle for a job; my boyfriend always jokes how I would always find something to dislike about any career path I could ever choose. I am currently training to be a Primary School teacher. Do I love it? Nope. Should I? Probably! I just don’t see myself doing it for the rest of my life. But.. beside from singing, do I really see myself doing ANYTHING for the rest of my life? I think this thought of this far commitment really scares me and makes quite unhappy. I want to learn to love my job, enjoy it. Is this even possible?
So yes, these are my main points of what I would love to achieve in the next ten years of my life. Will I? Maybe yes. Maybe not. But that is what life is about; I heard a saying once that if you wanted to make God laugh, you should tell him about your plans and that is possibly very true which is a lesson I learned while planning my life out at 10 years old. However, I do still keep my hopes up (should I sign my boyfriend up for horse riding lessons? :))
Are there any goals you wish to achieve in the future? Where do you see yourself in 10 years? Are you completely opposite to me? Let me know, I would love to hear from you!
12 thoughts on “Birthday post – where do I want to be in 10 years?

  1. Love this post. Actually my wishlist is almost the same like yours in future. But for the career, I have always wanted to work in fashion industry or fashion magazine😊 However, happy birthday! May your wishlist be come true in future. Wish you the best of luck in everything💕

    Like

    1. Thank you! Yes, fashion would be amazing industry to work in. I was meant to do a university course in Fashion Management and Marketing and then chickened out just before and I regret it so much! 🙂

      Julia x

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

