Honest Review Sunday: NYX Lip Products

dscf1381

Hi guys!
Today, I’m bringing you a review of my favourite products to use one every day basis. These include liquid lipsticks, lip glosses and lip liners all from the brand NYX. So, let’s get into it! Are they worth the money?
Name: NYX Professional Makeup Soft Matte Lip Creams, NYX Professional Makeup Mechanical Lip Pencil, NYX Professional Makeup Butter Gloss
Brand: NYX
Price: £5.50 – lipsticks and lip liners, £5.00 – lip gloss
Tested on animals: No (yay!)
What I liked:
  • The products are all very pigmented and give off very intense colours. The colour range is great, you can choose from 34 shades so anyone can find something for themselves. You can easily mix and match different shades of lipsticks, liners and glosses to achieve a perfect lip for you. If you’re looking for the perfect nude, I really recommend the lip liner in the colour Natural combined with the lipstick in the shade Abu Dhabi.
  • They are cheap! Compared to other lip products on the market they are a really low price and a good quality for that. They are comparable with other lip products that are a much higher price, so it’s a win situation really.
  • The lip glosses have the prettiest shine to them and make your lips look really plump. They aren’t too sticky and feel lightweight on the lips. They look just as pretty on top of a lipstick as well as on their own. I wasn’t always a lip gloss fan but these are certainly worth the hype.
  • They aren’t too big in size and so are very handy. You can pop them in your handbag, pocket etc, which I sometimes struggle with when, for example liquid lipsticks, are a bit chunkier in size.
  • The applicators are good. It is a little sponge for both the lipsticks and lip glosses which fits nicely on the lips, even the very narrow ones like mine. The products glide on smoothly and the formula allows the easy application as it does allow some drying time so that you can correct any mistakes you make.
What I didn’t like:
  • They are a bit drying, especially the lipsticks. If you suffer with really dry lips then a lip scrub will be a must and the products certainly won’t help. You may not get away with just wearing the lipstick on its own and may need to use a gloss. Whether this is due to the brand or whether it is just the curse of liquid lipsticks, is up to you to decide.
  • They don’t last awfully long; well, at least not for me. They look great but I find I have to reapply them often, especially when eating or drinking. As soon as my lips touch a glass of water, the products will immediately start wearing away and I also do find I have to put on another layer of the gloss at least every hour. This doesn’t bother me as much, as I really love the products, but if you’re looking for something really long lasting you may want to spend a bit more money.
Overall rating: 4/5. I really love these products; they are one of my favourites and I often use them daily and yes, they are always somewhere in my handbag. Although slightly drying and not so long-lasting, for the price I really don’t think this is an issue. There is a great colour range and you can find something for every occasion, starting from the perfect nude ending on the staple red. If you haven’t yet tried them out, it would certainly be something I would recommend.

dscf1382

11 thoughts on “Honest Review Sunday: NYX Lip Products

      1. The NYX soft matte lip creams are AMAZING. I can’t recommend them enough. If you use lipliner before you apply the lipstick it will last you all day. So much cheaper than a Kylie Lip Kit and better in my opinion.

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

