Honest Review Sunday: Benefit POREfessional Primer

Hi guys, I hope you’re all doing great!
So, this is my attempted at starting a weekly series on my blog. Let’s see how this will work out, eh? So, every Sunday I will attempt to review a product for you. This may not be of interest to some of you but it may help out some of the people that are debating whether to spend money on a particular product or not. Today, we are taking on the very much loved Benefit POREfessional Primer. Let’s go!
Processed with VSCO with hb2 preset
Name: POREfessional Primer
Brand: Benefit
Price: £26.00
Tested on animals: Yes (boo!)
Ingredients: Cyclopentasiloxane, Dimethicone, Dimethicone/Vinyl Dimethicone Crosspolymer, Isononyl Isononanoate, Silica, Dimethicone Crosspolymer, Isododecane, Phenoxyethanol, Polymethyl Methacrylate, Titanium Dioxide (CI 77891), Cyclohexasiloxane, Tocopheryl Acetate, Fragrance (Parfum), Mica, Iron Oxides (CI 77492), Limonene, Iron Oxides (CI 77491), Iron Oxides (CI 77499), Triethoxycaprylylsilane, BHT.
What I liked:
  • It kept my skin less oily throughout the day which was a definite bonus for me. My skin tends to get really oily throughout the day and I have definitely noticed a reduction in oil excess appearing during the course of the day.
  • Provides a nice matte finish underneath your foundation which is great if that is what you are looking for. Makes your foundation last a lot longer as well which is a big plus if you have to go without touch ups all day.
  • It is really gentle on the skin and doesn’t make you break out. At least it didn’t make me break out.
  • The smell. It doesn’t really have one and I like that. My skin being sensitive and prone to irritation doesn’t like anything that is overly scented.
What I didn’t like:
  • I’m going to be honest. My skin is really problematic and we all know that by now. I feel like this had dried my skin out slightly. So, if like me, you sometimes struggle with dry patches then this would definitely be a no from me as it seems to dry them out even more. It’s purpose, however, is to control the oiliness and it is predominantly meant to be used by people who suffer with oily skin. Me having a combination of two always seems to be an issue.
  • Texture. I know a lot of people are going to disagree on this one as when applied to my hand it seemed to make it smoother than ever. However, again possibly due to my dry patches, when applied to skin it just felt drying. I do believe however, that this could just not be a fit for my skin type.
  • I don’t feel like it minimised the appearance of my pores amazingly. After hearing so many spectacular reviews I was really excited and quickly became disappointed. It does slightly, but surely not fully.
Overall rating: 3,5/5. It is a good primer and I’m not saying otherwise. There are good reasons why others love it so much. However, it’s just not a fit to my skin and if you’re anything like me, it will not be a match for you. I love how it controls the oiliness and makes my make up stay in place throughout the day, however, the fact that it slightly dries me out sometimes puts me off using it, especially on extra dry face days. For the money, I would probably opt to buy something else, although I enjoy having it in my collection.
Processed with VSCO with hb1 preset
Have any of you used this primer? If so, what did you think of it? Are you one of the lovers? Also, do any of you have a good primer recommendations? I’m always on a lookout for something great and am willing to try anything out.
Julia x
4 thoughts on “Honest Review Sunday: Benefit POREfessional Primer

  1. I’ve tried a little sample of this in an advent calendar one year, and I found it slightly dried my skin out too… I’m a great lover of The Body Shop’s Instablur, over a bit of moisturiser it works a dream! Great post, and blog! ☺️ x

    Like

Leave a Reply

