(Current) August favourites

Hi,
Today I wanted to share with you some of the things I’ve been enjoying all throughout the month of August. It went by so quickly, I literally can’t believe we are nearly at September already. I want to start by saying that August as a month has to be one of my favourites. The weather has been lovely, I’ve attended a few lovely birthday parties and been to a couple of amazing places. Go August!
Processed with VSCO with a5 preset
These are my make up favourites this month.
  1. Naked2 Palette – £38.50 Who doesn’t love a good Naked Palette, hm? This month the second edition has proven to be my favourite. The shades are very versatile and needless to say have a long lasting time especially when combined with the Urban Decay Primer Potion. A lovely variety of mattes and sparkly; a win for everyone.
  2. Makeup Revolution Blush Palette in Blush Goddess – £6.00 Can you believe this bargain? I have only discovered Makeup Revolution last month (I know, how late am I to this?) and decided to buy a couple of bits and pieces. This palette (especially the blushers) are insane. The colours are very vibrant and look lovely on the skin. They are very pigmented and so, even though used daily, you can barely see any use. The palette is comparable to some of the higher end ones while being a much more affordable.
  3. NYX Soft Matte lip cream – £5.50 (colours in the photo – Abu Dhabi and Cannes) I love this stuff. These lip creams are pretty much all I have been putting on my lips for the past month. They give an amazing colour and coverage due to being so rich and pigmented. They may not be everlasting, but I think that they last just about the right amount of time between the loo breaks on your night out. The colour selection is also quite incredible.
  4. NYX Mechanical Lip Pencil – £5.50 (colour in the photo – Natural) – I’m not usually the one for the twist up lip pencils, but this one is pretty amazing. The colour is the perfect colour for my lips (you know, one of those ‘your lips but better’). It is really long lasting and affordable. Would definitely recommend if you’re on a lookout for a new lipliner.
  5. Sleek Highlighter Palette in Solstice- £9.99 Can we start by admiring the packaging of this highlighter palette? How Instagramable? I bought this due to a massive hype in the blogging world and I wasn’t disappointed. The highlighters are very pigmented so a little goes a long way. The colours are lovely and all have a different purpose but can be used interchangeably. There are three powder shades and one cream one. Although I’m usually all about the cream highlighters, I do prefer the powders in this palette. Use this pretty much everyday.
  6. L’Oréal Paris Infallible Fixing Mist – £7.99 A perfect dupe for the Urban Decay Fixing spray. When applied well, it makes my make up last all day and helped my mum with her constant smudging mascara problem. However, you do have to be careful when applying it; if you don’t shake it well enough before spraying, you can experience all of your face as well as your clothes being covered in white, powdery dots. Not great. But other than that, a lovely product.
Processed with VSCO with hb1 preset
  1. Victoria’s Secret – Pure Daydream Body Mist I bought this on sale in Superdrug and can’t find it anywhere online other than Amazon, so I’m guessing they’re not in production anymore? However, this smells lovely and I don’t remember it costing a fortune. It is a great summer smell, fruity and sweet, and you just feel like consantly spraying it on yourself.
  2. Trefoil Tee by Adidas Original – £22.00 It makes me so happy that sporty fashion is now back in style. I am completely in love with all the sporty clothing, especially Adidas. Starting with this, oh so easy to style, tee, Adidas has been my go to brand this month. Can’t get enough of the three stripes leggings, T-shirt dresses and even Adidas socks. Makes you look fashionable while feeling super comfortable and it doesn’t really get any better than that.
  3. Dove Derma Spa Summer Revived Medium to Dark Skin Body Lotion – £6.99 – After being on holiday in Spain in June, I have noticed my tan starting to fade and have contemplated using fake tan again. Trust me when I say that fake tan and I do not get along and have a lot of memories of looking orange and streaky together. But this is different. It gives a nice, healthy glow to my skin without any streaks and now I look like I’m in Spain every weekend.
  4. The Girl on the Train by Paul Hawkins – £9.99 I could literally not put this book down. I am one of those people that struggle to find a book that really captures their full attention and are particularly picky with what they read. This is a really captivating book. Although I found the unfolding of the events really surprising, I do think the ending could have been a bit better, but it still my favourite book I’ve read in August. Read in literally two days and would definitely recommend if you haven’t read it yet (and not a lot of people haven’t!)
So, these are all of the things I’ve been loving this month. Is there anything that you’ve been loving? I would love to hear all about it.
Have a lovely day,
Julia
Leave a Reply

