My favourite TV series

Hi lovelies! Hope you are all well.
For the last few days I’ve been stuck at home. Frodo (my cat)  got a really nasty bite on his back leg (we still don’t know where he got it from!) and had to have stitches, resulting in him having to wear one of those medical collars. Now, if you have a cat or even a dog, you will know how much they hate wearing those, so he tries to take it off ALL THE FRICKING TIME. It’s a bit sad watching him in this agony of his,  but because of this, he has to be supervised at all times, so I have been spending a little bit more time at home. But fear not, I have been finding stuff to do, like for example, catching up on all of my favourite series, which actually, is what inspired me to write this post.
I am always on a look out for something new to watch and am one of those bizarre people who prefer a series to a movie; partly to the episodes lasting a shorter amount of time and partly because I feel that you relate a lot more with the characters. And trust me, I do get very attached. Here are some of my favourite shows to watch and hopefully I can help someone out in their time of utter boredom. If you have any TV series that you love, please let me know, I always appreciate any suggestions!

How I Met Your Mother

8Jna5ExNow, up until the finale, this has always been my favourite show. I have watched this sitcom all throughout my teenage years. It is a story of a father telling his children all about his young adult years (basically, him always meeting up at a bar with his four friends), building up to when he met their mother. This show has managed to make me laugh out loud and cry during the same episode; the situations are so relatable but the writers had the ability to write the scenes in such a way that you never left the episodes without a smile on your face. Now, the finale has been a little bit of a disappointment for me (an understatement, actually) but this will always be a show that I will go back to with a lot of nostalgia, as I feel like I have grown up with all the characters; from the womaniser Barney to the feminist, gun shooting Robin. Each episode lasts about 20 minutes which I actually really liked and it is such an easy watch. Would definitely recommend.

Game of Thrones

Game-of-thrones-Wallpaper-16If you haven’t watched Game of Thrones, you have at least heard something about it. This show is massive worldwide and I feel like it truly deserves all the praise that it has ever received. The story, although sometimes maybe too graphic if you’re sensitive, is so captivating and surprising in so many ways. It follows a way of many characters, trying to get a claim of the Iron Throne, but although this is meant to be the main plot, there is just so much else going on, that it would be impossible to even try to summarise it in this paragraph. The characters are so well written, but as every Game of Thrones fan says, don’t get too attached because they will probably die some way along in the show. The scenery in the series is amazing and the costumes incredible. The episodes are about an hour long and each episode never fails to leave you at the edge of your seat.

Vikings

WDF_2633887Never have I ever thought I would enjoy a series titled ‘Vikings’. Not because I have anything against the vikings, I actually think they are rather too cool for me, but because I was never into anything historic like that. My boyfriend convinced me to watch the first episode and I have never looked back. As you can probably guess from the title, the show is about the vikings; one special vikings in particular, Ragnar Lothbrok  (who by the way, is incredibly handsome, so bonus!). It follows a story of him becoming an Earl and then, King Ragnar. I absolutely love the characters on this shows and would even go as far as saying that Lagertha is my favourite female character ever to appear in any TV series (and that is a big statement to make!). She is an inspiring, strong and ambitious role model even to present-day women and I adore her. Some good fight scenes.I never thought a show like this could make me cry; but you guessed it right, it did, many times.

Skins

skins-tv_00325147Again, a show that I have watched throughout of my teenage years. It is a British teenage drama that followed the life of a group of teenagers. Although I did find the show a bit unrealistic as I have personally never went through anything that may even resemble the situations in the show, I have somehow managed to connect with all of the characters at different levels. They all have a different story and they are written so well that even though you may feel like you dislike the character at first, you are bound to love them by the end of their era on the show. I feel like the best way to describe the show is: reality. I feel like it shows the ups and downs, the positives and the complete negatives of life. It touches on subjects like drug abuse, bad relationships, homosexuality, mental health and even death. It is just so real, on so many levels. Definitely a must-watch if you haven’t already, even if you’re not a teenager anymore.

Orange Is the New Black

Orange_is_the_New_Black_TV_Show-PhotosOrange Is the New Black, is a story of Piper, going into a women’s prison to serve her 15 months sentence for a crime she committed over a decade ago. For this one, I’m just going to scream: CHARACTERS! It is very rare to have so many well written characters in one show, for them to all be women and all for them all to be so unique. To be honest, I find it almost impossible to choose my favourite character. All of their stories are great; in each episode you get a least a glimpse of the past, that tells you more about different characters and gives you an insight to their lives making them more relatable and open to the viewer. Once you start watching the show I guarantee, you are not going to stop until you get to the end (thankfully, Netflix confirmed two more seasons!). It touches on subjects of sexuality, racism and discrimination and although the show is bound to make you cry it is bound to make you laugh out loud as well.
There are a few more that I could talk about, but I didn’t want to make the post too long as I do feel that I have rambled on enough! If you have any recommendations, please let me know, I’m always on a look out to get obsessed over a show again.
Julia x
Leave a Reply

