Caring for ombre hair; my hair care routine

Hi,

I’ve realised that although one of the first descriptions of my blog is ‘beauty and fashion’ there has never been a post on any of those things, so things are about to change guys, because today I am going to be talking about my hair.

This is my hair 11988782_1259010730792790_3482024713766840821_n(oh and me, hello! I don’t think you have ever seen me on here, so as well as my hair this is also my face with a little bit of an Instagram filter on it so that I don’t scare you too much!) I wash it twice a week and regularly use a dry shampoo, because… life gets in the way and there are better things to do, eh? I air dry it and don’t really tend to use a lot of heat on it unless it is a special occasion.

I have had ombre hair pretty much throughout my whole teenage years. I have dyed it this way for the first time when I was about 14 with an amateur kit from Superdrug with the help of my dear friend who really liked playing a hairdresser. Surprisingly, it wasn’t a complete disaster and I do think we did a pretty good job, but I did strive for  a more of a salon look, so in the end I did manage to get it dyed professionally after ditching ombre for a couple of months.

 

I have loved every minute of having ombre, even though people do tend say it is passé now. What I love about it, is the fact that you don’t even have to think about your roots and getting anything redone. You can leave your hair untouched for months (and yes, I have done that before…) and it will still look as if it was meant to be that way. The only downside of having ombre, is the fact that your ends, due to being bleached of course, get dry SO QUICKLY. They also split easily, but worry not, I am about to share my favourite products to avoid all of that fuss.

Processed with VSCO with f2 preset

Probably my favourite shampoo and conditioner for ombre hair? You don’t think you need a purple shampoo until you actually use it. It is meant to take out any brassiness developing in your lovely, golden locks and it does just that while leaving your hair feeling smooth and healthy (is it just me or was I the only one who thought purple shampoos would damage your hair because they are basically a toner?) I would recommend this one due to the affordable price compared to the other purple shampoos on the market, but I’m sure there are others which work just as well. I use this once a week and switch it up with a moisturising shampoo. (John Frieda Colour Renew Tone Correcting Shampoo and Conditioner, 250ml, £5.99 each)

This is my FAVOURITE hair mask, EVER. Sorry for the capitals, but I just can’t go on enough about this, as it has absolutely saved my hair. I use this twice a week, applying it about 10 minutes before I wash my hair. It does what it says on the tube; it is literally a reincarnation mask for your bleached hair. After using it, my hair feels the smoothest it has ever felt (even when I decided to ditch ombre for a few months I just carried on using it anyway). I recommend it to all of my friends who struggle with dryness in the ends of their hair and I absolutely recommend it to you. The price is not terrifying, it smells nice and works wonders. I’m sold. (Bleach Reincarnation Mask, 200ml, £6.00)

Processed with VSCO with f2 preset

Processed with VSCO with f2 preset

Hair oils are a massive thing in today’s beauty regimes, so it would seem silly not to mention at least try them out at some point in your life. They are quite affordable and easily accessible. Personally, here are my two favourites which I use regularly; coconut oil and argan oil. The first one I usually use as a hair mask that I put on my hair overnight (now, that does mean I sleep in a amusing shower cap) and wash it off in the morning. Leaves my hair nourished and smooth. Argan oil I put on the ends of my hair after I have washed it but before it dries. Make sure you go organic though, you never know what you may find in the others and it is all about wanting the best for your hair.

Processed with VSCO with f2 preset

Oh and when I find a split end, these are my best friend. I just use hairdressing scissors to cut it off and I never have to worry about it annoying me ever again. I bought mine in Boots I think, so they were crazy cheap and do the job. Just make sure you don’t use normal, paper scissors. These do not tend to be sharp enough and instead of cutting away your split end, you will just be creating more of them. (Hairdressing Scissors, £8.29)

 

So yes, that is all I have to say about my ombre hair. I hope you find some of these tips and products useful and if you ask me, I would totally recommend for you to rock the ombre look. It is low key maintenance, you don’t have to spend hundreds of pounds getting your roots done every four weeks, but you still look absolutely fabulous.

Any more tips for ombre? Let me know if you know of any good tricks, tips and products.

Love you lots,

Julia

 

One thought on “Caring for ombre hair; my hair care routine

Leave a Reply

